Renee Adams

Renee is the Commonwealth Bank Chair in Finance at the University of New South Wales in Australia. She is an Associate Editor at Management Science, a senior fellow of the Asian Bureau of Finance and Economic Research (ABFER), and a director of the Financial Research Network (FIRN), a partnership of Australian universities and SIRCA. She is also an academic fellow at the Financial Markets Group at the London School of Economics and a research associate at the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI). Her research focuses on issues related to corporate governance, and in particular on issues related to gender.



Francesca Cornelli

CornelliFrancesca is a Professor of Finance and heads the department at London Business School, and she is the director of the Coller Institute of Private Equity. She is an editor of The Review of Financial Studies and of Private Equity Findings. She has also been an associate editor of the Journal of Finance and the Journal of Financial Intermediation, and a member of the board of editors of the Review of Economic Studies. Her research interests include corporate governance, private equity, privatization, bankruptcy, initial public offerings, and innovation policy.




Michelle Lowry

Michelle is the TD Bank Professor of Finance at the LeBow School of Business, Drexel University. She is an associate editor of the Journal of Financial Economics, and she is a past associate editor of the Review of Financial Studies. She is an academic director at the Corporate Governance Center at Drexel University. Her research focuses on initial public offerings and mergers, and she is interested in the ways that companies’ corporate governance affects their performance around these corporate events.




Sydney Ludvigson

Sydney is the William R Berkeley Term professor of economics at NYU, and she has served as a visiting scholar at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York She is a past associate editor of the American Economic Review and of the Journal of Business and Economic Statistics. In addition, she is also director of the CV Starr Center for Applied Economics. Her research is concentrated on macroeconomics and asset pricing, addressing issues related to investor uncertainty, international capital flows, and housing prices.




Ulrike Malmendier

Ulrike is the Edward and Mollie Arnold Professor of Finance at the Haas School of Business and a Professor Economics in the economics department, both at the University of California, Berkeley. She is a research associate at NBER, a research affiliate at CEPR, a fellow at CEOifo, and a faculty research fellow at the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA). Her research interests include corporate finance, behavioral economics, behavioral finance, the economics of organizations, contract theory, law and economics, and law and finance.




Paola Sapienza

Paola is Donald C. Clark / HSBC Chair in Consumer Finance Professor at the Kellogg School of Management, at Northwestern University. She also serves as a faculty fellow for the Zell Center for Risk Research, a research affiliate of the Center for Economic Policy Research and a faculty research fellow in the National Bureau of Economic Research’s program on corporate finance and political economy.Paola’s areas of expertise include banking and financial institutions, behavioral economics, behavioral finance, corporate finance, emerging markets and regulation of financial markets, private equity and venture capital.



Advisory Board Members

Anat Admati – the George G.C. Parker Professor of Finance and Economics, Stanford Graduate School of Business

Brad Barber – the Maurice J. and Marcia G. Gallagher Chair in Finance, UCDavis Graduate School of Management

Kathleen Hagerty –the First Chicago Professorship in Finance at the Kellogg School, Northwestern University.

Maureen O’Hara –the Robert W. Purcell Professor of Finance at the Johnson Graduate School of Management, Cornell University.

Laura Starks – the Charles E. and Sarah M. Seay Regents Chair of Finance and Chair of the Department of Finance at the McCombs School of Business, University of Texas at Austin.

Jessica Wachter – the Richard B. Worley Professor of Financial Management, Professor Finance, at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania.

Toni Whited – the Dale L. Dykema Professor of Business Administration at the Ross School of Business, University of Michigan.

Linda Goldberg – Senior Vice President, Financial Intermediation Function, Federal Reserve Bank of New York.


Organization of AFFECT

  • AFFECT is organized as a committee of the AFA. This organization largely follows that of CSWeP relative to the AEA.
  • The Board consists of six members: a Chair, a Vice Chair and four at-large members. Members serve three-year terms, with a maximum of two consecutive terms by any one member. At least one member should come from outside the US, in recognition of the growing importance of Europe and Asia in the profession.   As existing Board members’ terms expire, the Board is responsible for nominating new Board members. These nominations are subject to AFA approval.
  • A fraction of the initial board members will serve more than three years, as we evolve into a staggered board structure. Organization-specific knowledge will be important, and continuity of at least some board members each year will facilitate this.
  • A Board member may serve a maximum of two consecutive terms.
  • The Chair of the Board will attend the January meeting of the AFA Executive Committee to deliver the annual report.
  • An Advisory Board serves to provide guidance and ideas on specific initiatives.
  • The administrative seat of AFFECT is at the chair’s university.  Currently this is at the University of New South Wales (UNSW).